Garden Update!

We had an awesome weekend for weather and I didn’t waste it! I had to rake up leaves that were caught in the first snow and never thawed, I pulled up and fixed the fence that’s always falling down. I braced my garden box that was bowing under the weight of the compost/dirt inside.

Here you can see a slide show of our side garden. This is the garden I spent my vacation getting up and running from the tired overrun mess it was last summer.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In other garden related news I want to admit that the Tim Horton’s cups were a bust. Too small and I eventually had to bite the bullet and get my little plants into a set up that was able to be transported more easily… hence pots that fit into trays. So I used the +15ºC weather to give my little guys a taste of the outdoors and repotted (again) on the back deck into better containers. It ended up being really good for them. By the time I was done it was down to +10ºC and feeling chilly.

IMG_4839

I grouped bunching onions in 2s and 3s to conserve space. You’re looking at my nicotianas, marigolds, and zinnias on the left, onion in the middle-right, broccoli in the front-right and zucchini in the back right.

IMG_4840

My zucchinis and Charlotte’s bean pole definitely need to get outside ASAP. They’re monsters. 

IMG_4838

My followup batches are doing well. Trying to sprout some potatoes from the store in the front there. They’re slow because they’re sprayed with an inhibitor. I keep rinsing them off. They’ll pull through it. Nature persists! You can see the little guys in the back-right-six? They’re strawberries! 🙂 

IMG_4837

A close up of my followup crops. 🙂 Broccoli, cauliflower and bunching onions here. 

Leave a Reply

