Flashback Blues – John Prine

While window shopping through the past I ran across a looking glass reflecting moments remaining in a burned out light

tragic magic prayers and passion stay the same through changing fashion that frees my mind like water on a winter’s night

spent most of my youth out hobo cruising and all I’ve got for proof is rocks in my pockets and dirt in my shoes

So goodbye non-believer don’t you know that I hate to leave here so long baby I got the flashback blues

photographs show the laughs recorded in between the bad times happy sailors dancing on a sinking ship

cloudy skies and dead fruit flies waving goodbye with tears in my eyes well sure I made it but you know it was a hell of a trip

spent most of my youth out hobo cruising and all I’ve got for proof is rocks in my pockets and dirt in my shoes

so ten times what it grieves you thats how much more I hate to leave you so long babe I got the flashback blues

Leave a Reply

