Epic garden boxes and garden plans for 2017 and 2018.

So I have decided to make some pretty epic garden boxes. They’re going to be 4 feet wide by 16 feet long by 3 feet deep with dividers every 4 feet or so for stability.

I was originally planning two of these monsters but after planning out a garden for two you can see I ran out of things to plant given my gardening goals.

My goals :

  1. Pickled cucumbers (with peppers and cauliflower).
  2. Pickled carrots (with peppers and cauliflower).
  3. Big batch of tomato-basil soup that I can freeze or bottle.
  4. Big batch of potato-leek soup that I can freeze or bottle.
  5. Minced and bottled garlic.
  6. Pick and eat Zucchini, Broccoli, and lettuce.

When I had reached my goals I realized I still had two empty 4′ x 4′ boxes. I decided to transplant my three strawberry plants into one box and add 11 more!? Nope. This garden plan is overshooting my goals by a long shot. Going to save the below plan for my 2018 garden.

scan (1).jpg

For 2017 I am only going to build one epic garden box. Same size but I will lay it out more conservatively to achieve the same goals without going overboard.

scan.jpg

As you can see there’s plenty of room and I’ll just focus on fewer plants. I still might transplant the strawberries into the empty box. I like the idea of having my own strawberry patch. 🙂

Leave a Reply

