My boss hates music.

So I work in a retail store but the job I do I’m often on my own with no one to talk to. When I first started here I listened to headphones. When headphones were banned I played music quietly in the background of my work area. I was eventually told by my boss that was not allowed either. There’s some tax we’d have to pay to be allowed to play music in a retail space; whatever. I finally said fuck it and just started singing. It’s effective vocal practice and a reasonable distraction from the monotony. My boss brought it up but we both knew there was nothing he could do about it. After that the issue was settled.

This morning I was whistling at my desk when a permanent black marker flew past my head. My boss told me to knock it off and I did immediately with an apology. It’s official. He hates music.

Leave a Reply

