Music journal #1.

Okay. I’m half way through my large black coffee from Tim Horton’s. I don’t start to feel normal until I’ve refilled it and drank another cup full of office coffee. LOL

So I’ve been learning to play music for 5 years. I started in September 2011 with Rockmeister’s Guitar Lessons. Jeff Creamer opened my eyes and my ears to a world I’ve only ever fantasized about. Music became a big part of my life overnight. I was struggling with anxiety and depression at the time and practicing kept my mind off of… well, everything! I would even go to sleep at night thinking about the basic chord progression of Let It Be by the Beatles or You Don’t Know How It Feels by Tom Petty.

I’ve been in a band, A Town In Caves. I’m looking to start another with Nikki’s boyfriend, Mike, though he doesn’t know it yet. He’s moving in with a former band mate of his and supposedly the apartment is a musical playground. I’m going to try and set up a weekly hangout date.

So after 3-4 years with Jeff I had pretty much learned his method for learning and teaching me songs. I certainly could have kept learning from him but I wanted to steer my musical learning in a different direction. Evie was starting violin at Dorian so I asked about voice lessons for myself. I got introduced to Michelle Monette and have been taking voice lessons ever since.

My initial goal was to sing in front of an audience. At 2016’s recital I achieved this goal singing Hotel Yorba by The White Stripes and Refugee by Tom Petty.

Right now I’m flailing a little bit but we’re going to pull it together and get some practicing done.

This morning I had 5 minutes so I played through Born and Raised by John Mayer and practiced the G major and G minor scale once.

Leave a Reply

