Sex Ed and organized ignorance.

Evie – Where do babies come from?
Me – Mommies and daddies.
Evie – But they come out of mommy’s belly?
Me – A special part in her belly just for making babies where daddies can plant a seed.
Evie – How do they plant a seed?
Me – They do a special love dance called sex.
Evie – Where is your seed daddy?
Me – I keep them in my private parts. Boy’s private parts are called penis and girl’s privates are called vaginas.

Later on in the garden.

Evie – Bee!
Me – Bees are good. They help deliver the seeds from the boy parts to the girl parts to make more plants.
Evie – Oh. Like mommy and daddy.
Me – Exactly.

I think most parents would agree that one of the first questions kids have is where did I come from? It’s a valid question that they really deserve an answer to. It helps them to understand so much more than their own origin but life itself. This isn’t the middle ages. We know where babies come from. We know why some have blue eyes and some have brown. Yet while some of our population is working on isolating genes that can increase a risk for cancer others are making sure their children don’t find out about penises and vaginas.

All across Ontario bands of ignorant people are organizing to put a stop to the public school system updating their sex education to the 21st century by teaching kids in grade 1 that men have a penis and women have a vagina, or by teaching that men can fall in love with other men and preform oral and anal sex by grade 8. I didn’t grow up with the internet and I can tell you kids knew about oral sex by grade 8 back then.

Culture, religion, family values. Bullshit. Abstinence doesn’t work. Ignorance doesn’t work. Science and knowledge has proven itself to be our best weapon for combatting STIs, people seeking consent, reducing rape and unreported rape, reducing sexual stigma, increasing sexual satisfaction, reducing teen/unwanted pregnancy, and limiting unreported sexual abuse.

I’m sorry but I’m not sorry. Sex education to me is the same as vaccines. We need to force the ignorant into conformity. Having a well educated youth regarding the dangers and delights of sex is better for our entire society.

I don’t have my head up my ass. I am fine with the fact that my daughters will grow up to have and love (I hope.) sex. It’s the most important part of relationships. It’s the square root of life. Fuck(,) people! Get with the program.

Leave a Reply

